yesterday’s sweater

i was never the best dressed female, anywhere. i went through a labels period between 13 and 15 years of age, and again at 20 where i wore anything that was popular, simply because it was popular. but overall I’ve been a flip-flops, jean shorts and t-shirt type of girl. In high school it was typically accompanied with a bikini underneath because I’d skip and, well, go to the beach. In college I’d throw on whatever didn’t match just to be “different”. Today, I’m just simple. The funny thing is, I have been very into fashion. And it’s this very into fashion that guided me to my niche: simple. Jacqueline Kennedy, Audrey Hepburn, Katie Holmes-Cruz – all simple. there is a certain glamour that comes with it. But it’s not just that. I like the comfort and not-glamour of simplicity as well.

For example: Yesterday’s Sweater.

I found this purple piece of heave for 9 bucks at target. 9 bucks! and i wear it almost everyday. I know i should have pulled a Jackie O move and bought it in every color but by the time I realized I was in love, it was summer, and I couldn’t find the sweater. It’s very simple, thin, comfortable. I can pair it with tights, skirts, slacks, whatever. And i wear it ALL the time. I am not ashamed of this. I wear it SO MUCH in fact i gave it its own term of endearment: yesterday’s sweater.  

this was done first with my mothers green cardigan, and then my black one, most recently before yesterdays sweater it was the golden olden – a yellow button down that i wore all the time. i have realized that people put too much into having too many clothes. and they’ve completely forgotten to be comfortable, happy. My golden olden makes me very happy. putting it on just makes me feel “together” and the color brightens my mood. both golden olden and yesterdays sweater make me feel like there’s so much more to my appearance than the clothes i wear. they remind me that glamour, beauty, whatever, come from how i carry myself, the little trinkets – my MUSE necklace or rose bud earrings that make me. i’m ok with having staples. ok with having them recognizable as ME. because once that’s out of the way, people will see everything else.

*keep in mind though, i am a woman – i still jazz it up on a need to jazz basis*

Leave a Reply

