Pretty

Blonde stepford mothers

keep me in the kitchen questioning my country

while daughters snigger

fuckin nigger

but no, the mother’s say she’s got to be part

jap, or chink, or malay

her eyes are so

pretty

sister so and so slices me a sliver of rum cake, spiced

and tugs my mane like it wont come off

this your grandbaby?

yank

well, her hair is so

pretty

my name on a foreign tongue

taste like the tango but truth be told it’s

just a jig

you just give it accents where my daddy ain’t see none.

yeah, i’ll repeat it for you.

and you say, it’s

pretty.

ajumah in her market

markedly assessing my make-up

genetic

happy for eomma

not too dark

so she deems me epudah

pretty

society is so ugly

4 thoughts on “Pretty

Leave a Reply

